Press "Enter" to skip to content

Eme Kaynak Linkleri

 

Social Justice Mathematics and Science Curricular Resources for K-12


Hello

The following resources may help educators, teachers, researchers, master, and PhD students to develop some perspective towards the concept of social justice and its reflection on education. However, one should keep in mind that most of the following resources and curriculum materials draw on liberal and neoliberal ideology politics. There is a few that is inspired by Anti-Capitalist, Anti-Imperialist and Anti-Fascist and Marxist perspective.  Neoliberalism has dominated the world over the last forty some years and caused so many injustices in education world. Those who think that the injustice created by neoliberalism can possibly be solved by the same neoliberalism should give one more thought and look for something above and beyond identity politics.

Social Justice Mathematics and Science Online Resources

Racial Justice in Early Math | Erikson Institute Early Math Collaborative https://earlymath.erikson.edu/promisingmath/racial-justice/ 

Modern Day Redlining https://apps.revealnews.org/redlining/ and related article [Thank you Julie Roos]

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Science: A Reading List by Priya Shukla https://medium.com/@priyology/diversity-inclusion-in-science-a-reading-list-a45cea40b972 [Thank you Dave Gorski]

Black History Month and Mathematics https://francesharper.com/2021/02/15/black-history-month-mathematics/?fbclid=IwAR3jGANCyogbH7xl60gn95Hx0MQczr4xjM9jXfJ13sl-4vmDlND-3CqVjmk
A Pathway to Equitable Math Instruction | Dismantling Racism in Mathematics Instruction | Exercises for educators to reflect on their own biases to transform instructional practice https://equitablemath.org/ https://4becd4fe-d709-4c11-a2a2-fb9327f08b81.filesusr.com/ugd/171771_614186728ff1485ebd9fb3f4c7c7a730.pdf

Water Quality Investigation in Pittsburgh by Dr. Kokka https://sites.google.com/view/waterquality/home  

NYT Teach Inequality with these 28 NYT Graphs (thank you Isabel Crain)

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/05/11/learning/lesson-plans/teach-about-inequality-with-these-28-new-york-times-graphs.html 

NYT What’s going on in this graph? https://www.nytimes.com/column/whats-going-on-in-this-graph
Over 60 NYT Graphs for students to analyze https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/10/learning/over-60-new-york-times-graphs-for-students-to-analyze.html 

YouCubed Data Science Lessons https://www.youcubed.org/data-science-lessons/ [Thank you Mandy Decker]

Dr. Robert Berry’s Social Justice Mathematics Resource Padlet https://padlet.com/rqb3e/sjmathresources 

The Underrepresentation Curriculum https://underrep.com/ 
American Statistical Association Resources for K-12 educators https://www.amstat.org/asa/education/K-12-Educators.aspx
Electoral College social justice math lesson by Charles Snyder https://teacher.desmos.com/activitybuilder/custom/5fa02d0bdb77d70bfeb1fc0b?fbclid=IwAR0zpWqEQXigIf9QgoL5MboMcx_wwIjENpcH7paC3gdwo_wqKMWni-aA_XA

Algebra 2 units from @benjamindickman as informed by (e.g.) the Teaching Tolerance Social Justice Standards:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Mldcf56b21KZ4Odug9V4CELrpjXbKGcatcP–mq_8L0/edit

OpenSciEd COVID Health Equity Units https://www.openscied.org/covid-19-health-equity/
UCLA Ethnic Studies Math and Science Resources https://bit.ly/ESMath_Science
NCTM Social Justice and Equity Resources https://www.nctm.org/socialjustice/
Syllabus: A History of Anti-Black Racism in Medicine https://www.aaihs.org/syllabus-a-history-of-anti-black-racism-in-medicine/?fbclid=IwAR3n5a23qey5e38wCqfHjkXQ8PNqcl7bXyGuNaAXn5uKQLjJGeHRFDhjxVQ

Nepantla Teachers Community Cohorts https://nepantlateachers.wixsite.com/website/2020-summer-cohort
Black Lives Matter at School https://blacklivesmatteratschool.com/ [Curated by Chris Rogers. Click on lesson plans. There are math and science lessons here. I have some here, but I need /would love to improve them.]

Creating Balance in an Unjust World Conference on STEAMM Education and Social Justice curricular resources http://www.creatingbalanceconference.org/resources/

Antiracist Mathematics Education Resource List https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vD3p3oX8xszq9ShrjfIbyFoZkEUUIc_WxutFINEgHK8/edit?usp=sharing http://bit.ly/antiracistmath 

Social Justice Math lessons from Frances Harper’s site https://francesharper.com/social-justice-math/

Algebra for Equity and Justice by Dr. Nathan Alexander
Radical Math http://radicalmath.org/ 

Data for Black Lives http://d4bl.org/

Math and Social Justice: A Collaborative MTBoS Site https://sites.google.com/site/mathandsocialjustice/curriculum-resources 

The Underrepresentation Curriculum Project  https://underrep.com/ [Thank you @danny_doucette]
Algebra Project https://algebra.org/wp/

Young People’s Project http://www.typp.org/

Access, Agency, and Allies in Mathematical Systems Antiracist Tool https://sites.google.com/go.olemiss.edu/a3ims/antiracist-tool

Teachers Empowered to Advance Change in Mathematics (Teach Math) https://teachmath.info/
Mathematical Modeling with Cultural and Community Contexts https://sites.google.com/a/uw.edu/dr-julia-aguirre/research/mathematical-modeling-with-cultural-and-community-contexts-m2c3
Pi Before Dinner Resources for Teachers and Parents https://www.pibeforedinner.com/ [Thank you Drs. Lou Matthews and Natalie Holliman]

Inspire Math Changing the Face of Mathematics https://www.inspiremath.org/ [Thank you Dr. Lou Matthews]
Science Educators for Equity Diversity and Social Justice http://seedsweb.org/ [Thank you Dr. Sarah Tolbert and Renée Agatsuma]

Bioneers Revolution from the Heart of Nature https://bioneers.org/
Investigating Environmental Racism in the High School Biology Classroom NSTA [Thank you Dr. Andy Weatherhead]

Teaching STEM In Ways that Respect and Build Upon Indigenous Peoples’ Rights [Thank you Dr. Andy Weatherhead]

TODOS webinars https://vimeo.com/user56336191 and podcasts https://todosmath.podomatic.com/
Science Educators for Equity Diversity and Social Justice
Teaching, Learning, and Loving Mathematics blog by Dr. Maria Zavala

Woke Math Ethnic Studies Math blog by Shraddha Shirude
Liberatory Design Cards https://dschool.stanford.edu/resources/liberatory-design-cards

STEM to the Future https://www.stemtothefuture.org/
Math Anywhere https://www.mathanywhere.org/ 

Mathematical Modeling with Cultural and Community  Contexts https://sites.google.com/qc.cuny.edu/m2c3/home
Ethnomathematics Lessons https://sites.google.com/site/ethnomathematics/lesson-plans

Ethnomathematics: Mathematics de TODOS https://www.todos-math.org/index.php?option=com_dailyplanetblog&view=entry&year=2019&month=05&day=22&id=11:ethnomathematics-mathematics-de-todos
School Diversity 6th grade math lesson by Kevin Nguyen https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1crp541eHFU8YxteQbCKX81El8Mm7iBkP
Civic Laboratory for Environmental Action Research (CLEAR) is a feminist, anti-colonial, marine science laboratory. They have projects on plastic pollution and wild food as well as methodological projects. 

https://civiclaboratory.nl/ [Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]

National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity STEM equity page https://napequity.org/stem/#:~:text=Specifically%2C%20its%20STEM%20Equity%20Pipeline,completion%20of%20students%20in%20STEM [Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]
Benjamin Dickman recently posted a preprint of an article he recently submitted on his social justice algebra 2 work. The article can be found here: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/353270334_What’s_in_a_name_Absolute_Value_Algebraic_Identity [Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]

Science Education Partnership Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center https://www.fredhutch.org/en/about/education-outreach/science-education-partnership/sep-curriculum.html [Thank you Renée Agatsuma]

Culturally Responsive Education STEM High School Toolkit https://sites.google.com/view/crestemtoolkit [Thank you Dr. Glenn Waddell]

Social Justice Education Resources
Harvard Graduate School of Eductaion (HGSE) Solidarity Collective for Black Lives Action Committee email Parastoo Massoumi for the Google Spreadsheet of Black, Anti-racist, & Critical Scholarship Recommendations  parastoo.massoumi@g.harvard.edu 

UCLA Ethnic Studies Teacher Resources http://www.teachethnicstudies.org/
So You’re Thinking About Becoming an Abolitionist by Miriame Kaba https://level.medium.com/so-youre-thinking-about-becoming-an-abolitionist-a436f8e31894

Abolitionist Teaching Network https://abolitionistteachingnetwork.org/
If You’re New to Abolition: Study Group Guide https://abolitionjournal.org/studyguide
Teachers 4 Social Justice Virtual Resources Fair https://t4sj.org/events/2020-conference-virtual-edition/virtual-resource-fair/

Center for Urban Education University of Pittsburgh https://www.cue.pitt.edu/
4 I’s of Oppression Resources by UCLA Teacher Education Program Ethnic Studies Pathway https://bit.ly/4IsofOppression

Antiracist Teaching Resources curated by Dr. Edwin Mayorga
Education and Criminalization Do #Black Lives Matter in Schools compiled by Dr. Subini Annamma
People’s Ed LA Teaching Resources

Resources for Supporting Black Lives Matter and Being an Antiracist. There is no in between periodt. 

Curated by Dr. Tia Madkins @ProfTiaMadkins

Six Elements of Social Justice Pedagogy by Dr. Bree Picower http://www.usingtheirwords.org/6elements/ 

Teaching Tolerance https://www.tolerance.org/

Civil Rights Teaching https://www.civilrightsteaching.org/

Rethinking Schools https://www.rethinkingschools.org/ 

Teaching for Change https://www.teachingforchange.org/

Social Justice Books https://socialjusticebooks.org/store/

Zinn Education Project https://www.zinnedproject.org/

Facing History https://www.facinghistory.org/
Equity Literacy Institute https://www.equityliteracy.org/equity-literacy [Thank you @ZingerLearns]
Leading Equity Center https://www.leadingequitycenter.com/ [Thank you @ZingerLearns]

Southern Poverty Law Center https://www.splcenter.org/teaching-tolerance [Thank you Laura McCracken]
Culturally Responsive Teaching and the Brain with Zaretta Hammond https://crtandthebrain.com/
Podcast Episodes Related to Education curated by Dr. Molade Osibodu https://bit.ly/37ryrrA
Critical Resistance http://criticalresistance.org/
#HipHopEd https://hiphoped.com/

Educating for Black Lives Routledge
Becoming an anti-racist educator Wheaton College https://wheatoncollege.edu/academics/special-projects-initiatives/center-for-collaborative-teaching-and-learning/anti-racist-educator/

Racial Equity Tools https://www.racialequitytools.org/home

Dismantling Racism Works https://www.dismantlingracism.org/ 

Being Antiracist Smithsonian https://nmaahc.si.edu/learn/talking-about-race/topics/being-antiracist 

Pledge to Act https://www.pledgetoact.org/ 
A Guide to Equity and Antiracism for Educators by Hedreich Nichols Edutopia https://www.edutopia.org/article/guide-equity-and-antiracism-educators 

Sylvia Duckworth’s infographics re: CRT and more https://www.flickr.com/photos/sylviaduckworth/
The Scholar Strike youtube page has a lot of great videos. Most are not directly related to STEM but there are a couple that are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCu76Immw5Fuj2bajTDCXwKQ/videos

[Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]

Grassroots Teacher Activist Organizations and Conferences

Creating Balance in an Unjust World Conference on STEAMM Education and Social Justice www.cbuw.org @cbuwconference 

Radical STEMM Educators of the Bay Area https://www.facebook.com/groups/TM4SJ/ @RadicalSTEMMEd

Abolition Science Radio https://www.abolitionscience.org/ @abolition_sci

New York Collective of Radical Educators NYCoRE http://nycore.org/  @NYCoRE3000 

People’s Education Movement Bay Area https://peoplesedbayarea.wordpress.com/ IG: @peoplesbayarea

People’s Education Movement LA https://peoplesed.weebly.com/ @peoples_ed

Nepantla Teachers Community https://nepantlateachers.wixsite.com/website

Washington State Ethnic Studies Now https://waethnicstudies.com/
Education for Liberation Network https://www.edliberation.org/
Free Minds Free People https://fmfp.org/

Teachers 4 Social Justice https://t4sj.org/ Bay Area

Teachers for Social Justice http://www.teachersforjustice.org/ Chicago

Abolitionist Teaching Network https://abolitionistteachingnetwork.org/
National Network of Teacher Activist Groups https://teacheractivists.org/

Black Teacher Project https://www.blackteacherproject.org/
Northwest Conference on Teaching for Social Justice ​​https://nwtsj.org/wp/ [thank you Renée Agatsuma]

Scholar Organizer Collectives
Critical Educators for Social Justice SIG http://www.cesjsig.org/about-cesj.html
CARE-ED in California: https://www.care-ed.org 

CReATE in Chicago: https://createchicago.weebly.com/ 

HSESJ in Hawai’i: https://hawaiischolars.wordpress.com/ 

EDJE, the nationwide deans network: https://www.educationdeans.org
Kevin Kumashiro’s work https://www.kevinkumashiro.com/
Just Mathematics Collective https://www.justmathematicscollective.net/ 


Books

Dr. Bulent Avci, Critical Mathematics Education – Can Democratic Mathematics Education Survive under Neoliberal Regime? | Brill

Rehumanizing mathematics for Black, Indigenous, and Latinx students edited by Drs. Imani Goffney, Rochelle Gutiérrez

A People’s Curriculum for the Earth: Teaching Climate Change and the Environmental Crisis https://www.rethinkingschools.org/books/title/a-people-s-curriculum-for-the-earth

Teaching for Black Lives https://www.rethinkingschools.org/books/title/teaching-for-black-lives

Rethinking Mathematics https://www.rethinkingschools.org/books/title/rethinking-mathematics-second-edition

High School Mathematics and Science Lessons to Explore, Understand, and Respond to Social Injustice

by Drs. Robert Q. Berry III, Basil M. Conway IV, Brian R. Lawler and John W. Staley https://resources.corwin.com/TMSJ-highschool

Radical Equations by Bob Moses and Charles Cobb https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/206027/radical-equations-by-robert-p-moses/9780807031278/

Impact of Identity in K-8 Mathematics: Rethinking Equity Based Practices by Drs. Julia Aguirre, Karen Mayfield-Ingram, and Danny Martin https://www.nctm.org/Store/Products/The-Impact-of-Identity-in-K-8-Mathematics–Rethinking–Equity-Based-Practices/

Science in the City by Dr. Bryan Brown https://scienceinthecity.stanford.edu/

Rethinking Ethnic Studies https://www.rethinkingschools.org/books/title/rethinking-ethnic-studies

Race After Technology Abolitionist Tools for The New Jim Code by Dr. Ruha Benjamin https://www.ruhabenjamin.com/race-after-technology

Captivating Technology Race, Carceral Technoscience, and Liberatory Imagination in Everyday Life edited by Dr. Ruha Benjamin https://www.dukeupress.edu/captivating-technology
Peoples Science by Dr. Ruha Benjamin https://www.ruhabenjamin.com/peoples-science
Teaching Mathematics for Social Justice Conversations with Educators Edited by Drs. Anita A. Wager and David W. Stinson
We Want To Do More Than Survive by Dr. Bettina Love https://bettinalove.com/
Beyond Banneker: Black Mathematicians and the Paths to Excellence [thank you Dr. Jamylle Carter]

Martin, D.B. (Ed.) (2009). Mathematics teaching, learning, and liberation in the lives of Black children.
         London: Routledge. [thank you Dr. Jamylle Carter]
Teaching Science for Social Justice by Angela Calabrese Barton [thank you Dr. Rabiah Harris]
STEM Rich Maker Learning: Designing for Equity with Youth of Color by Drs. Angela Calabrese Barton and
Edna Tan

Mathematics for Social Justice: Resources for the College Classroom Edited by Drs. Gizem Karaali and Lily S.
Khadjavi
[thank you Dr. Gizem Karaali and Dr. Lily Khadjavi]

Reflecting the World: A Guide to Incorporating Equity in Mathematics Teacher Education by Felton-Koestler, Simic-Muller, & Menéndez [thank you Dr. Matt Felton-Koestler]
Reading and Writing the World in Mathematics: Toward a Pedagogy for Social Justice by Dr. Eric (Rico) Gutstein
Bank Street Occasional Paper Series Critical Mathematical Inquiry [thank you Dr. Steven Greenstein]
Weapons of Math Destruction by Dr. Cathy O’Neill https://weaponsofmathdestructionbook.com/
Multiplication is for White People by Dr. Lisa Delpit

Erica Walker’s books Beyond Banneker: Black mathematicians and the paths to excellence https://www.maa.org/press/maa-reviews/beyond-banneker-black-mathematicians-and-the-paths-to-excellence [Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]

Building Mathematics Learning Communities: Improving Outcomes in Urban High Schools

https://www.tcpress.com/building-mathematics-learning-communities-9780807753286 [Thank you Dr. Nicole Fletcher]


Math Ed and Science Ed Literature [I do not include the critical math and science education research literature. I humbly encourage you to create your own list of the research literature!]

Pedagogical resources [I do not include these either, e.g, Complex Instruction, reform-oriented, standards based instruction, but I encourage you to look to those resources also, e.g,., www.YouCubed.org]

Mathematics and Mathematics Education Organizations
[I am not including mainstream/dominant math ed orgs here, but they do good work too.]
TODOS Mathematics for All https://www.todos-math.org/
Benjamin Banneker Association http://bbamath.org/ [thank you Dr. Shelley Jones]

Lathisms Latinxs and Hispanics in Mathematics and Science http://lathisms.org/[thank you Dr. Mandy Ruiz]
Mathematically Gifted and Black https://mathematicallygiftedandblack.com/ [thank you Dr. Mandy Ruiz]
National Association of Mathematicians [thank you Dr. Jamylle Carter]


Selected Readings and Videos

Six reasons why I want my white child to take ethnic studies by Jon Greenberg

Dr. Ibram Kendi on Democracy Now standardized testing and the eugenics movement

Eugenics movement 

Race the Power of an Illusion https://www.racepowerofanillusion.org/ 

Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in School  Dr. Monique Morris

Silenced Dialogue: Power and Pedagogy in Educating Other People’s Children by Dr. Lisa Delpit
Future of Healing by Dr. Shawn Ginwright

13th by Ava DeVurney  

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
James Baldwin A Talk to Teachers

Subversive Teaching to Rehumanize Mathematics by Dr. Rochelle Gutierrez

 107 total views,  2 views today

Copyright © 2020 | Design & Development Serdar Kurtoğlu